Environmental Economics Unit (EEU)

The Environmental Economics Unit (EEU) at the University of Gothenburg is the Swedish node in the EfD network. The Environmental Economics Unit was the original initiator of the EfD. Many members of the EfD have trained in Gothenburg and/or spent time here as researchers. The EEU has a large group of researchers who are strongly engaged in supporting the EfD centers and the EfD Secretariat.

The Environmental Economics Unit (EEU) is a research and teaching unit within the University of Gothenburg. The unit has about twenty researchers, including Ph.D. candidates, working on various projects related to natural resources and environmental economics. 

EEU offers a number of courses and programs from undergraduate to Ph.D. level. At the undergraduate level, they offer courses in environmental economics as well as a dedicated program SMIL. At the Ph.D. level, there is a number of students following the regular Ph.D. program in economics with a specialization in environmental economics. There is also a specialized Ph.D. in Environmental Economics and Management. Almost 50 Ph.D. candidates, from developing countries funded by Sida, have been trained by EEU. Today these people play an important part in training others and doing both research and policy advice within the EfD network.

EEU specializes in environmental economics research and training. The research is focused on a number of topics, climate, chemicals, biodiversity, fisheries, and other natural resource management in both OECD and developing countries. There are three main focus areas: reasons for market and policy failure at the micro and macro levels; the selection and design of policy instruments to deal with environmental issues; and experimental and valuation studies and their behavioral foundations. 

For more details of current research projects and publications, see the page at the University of Gothenburg and individual researcher pages linked below.


EEU researchers who are active in the EfD network:

Fredrik Carlsson
Jessica Coria
Marion Dupoux
Håkan Eggert
Claes Ek
Jens Ewald
Olof Johansson-Stenman
Jimmy Karlsson
Elina Lampi
Åsa Löfgren
Jesper Stage
Thomas Sterner
Ruijie Tian

Contact information

EEU, School of Business, Economics and Law, University of Gothenburg, Vasagatan 1
P.O. Box 640